Album Reviews

  • Exilia - My Own Army (2009)


    While I’m not a big fan of Nu Metal, and all the variants and pseudo metal genres that this movement sparked, I have to say that “My Own Army” is a solid release for that type of music. Exilia took advantage of the impulse that Nu Metal had a few years ago to establish themselves. After 4 albums under their name this release feels tired and it would have been received better a few years ago.

  • Magica – Wolves & Witches (2009)


    Magica is a Romanian band that has been around since 2002. With 4 releases under their belt, their latest album “Wolves & Witches” provides us with some mature and fresh sounding Gothic Metal. While this genre is full of good bands and great releases, it’s difficult to find albums (and bands) that stand out from the rest. However “Wolves & Witches” is one of them.

  • Elvenking - Two Tragedy Poets (...And a Caravan of Weird Figures) (2009)


    After getting almost crucified by fans and reviewers for their 2007 album “The Scythe”, Elvenking returns with a pretty solid release that mixes Folk Metal and Power Metal. The album kicks off with a traditional folk intro and gets into full gear on the second song. You can clearly hear the Folk style, but what makes it different is the vocals. The vocal style is more Power Metal oriented. How ever the album is mainly acoustic.

  • Tankard – Thirst (2009)


    “Thirst” is the 13th release from Tankard (which by the way means beer mug), and they got the number 13th curse. This album while not bad, it’s very inconsistent. It features some good songs and some filler songs that bring this album down. The opening track kicks the album in high gear, and the next one, is very … dull. This is the pattern throughout the whole album.

  • Ektomorf - What Doesn't Kill Me... (2009)


    Three years have passed since Ektomorf’s last album “Outcast” and these Hungarians are back with “What Dosen’t Kill Me..”. This release is a nice continuation of Ektomorf’s music. The band continues to play their characteristic old school Trash Metal with a touch of Groove Metal. While the band continues with their traditional sound, this album provides us with very good songs that never get old.

  • Alestorm - Leviathan (2008)


     Following the excellent Captain Morgan’s Revenge (2008), Alestorm released the Leviathan EP containing Heavy Metal Pirates, a single that was released for download from the band’s MySpace page months earlier. The EP contains just 4 tracks (listed below), and unfortunately only contains 2 new songs, a re-recording and a cover. The sound is very consistent with what you will find on Captain Morgan’s Revenge; the guitar solos, the keyboards, and especially the pirate vocals.

  • Gate Of Sorrow – Enter Through The Gate (2009)


    There are only a handful of releases that I truly enjoy every month, and “Enter Through The Gate” is one of them. This Czech band play a great Gothic /Death / Doom Metal, and their album has an impressive quality, musically and production wise. This album features nine powerful tracks that will blow the fans of the genre away.

    Behind the luscious keyboards and amazing female vocals, there is a very well defined drum line and distorted guitars that make this release great from beginning to end. After several releases under a different name (Gate) and from what I can read on their site, different musical style changes, they have released one of my favorite albums of this year.

  • Visions Of The Night – Nocturnal Militia (2007)


    If you want brutal, you’ll get brutal, if you want blazing fast guitars, you’ll get blazing fast guitars, if you want monstrous drumming, you also get them. All of these elements and more are packed in “Nocturnal Militia”.  This war and occultism inspired outfit from Canada are here to stay and haunt everybody with their album. This album does not lack energy and brutality in any aspect, the production is crystal clear and the music is like a round of AK-47 shots.

    While the band style is more death metal oriented they have certain elements of black metal that make it an interesting mix of genres. The twelve tracks on this release are enough to keep moshing the whole time. And you will certainly want more.

  • Disgust – Crucifucked (2008)


    Disgust is a Mexican Death metal band that likes to stick to the basics and excel at it. While they are not going to win any awards for originality, they are pretty good at achieving the same sound of Cannibal Corpse with some of the groovyness of Six Feet under. This album provides 35 minutes of pretty good old school death metal that is hard to find in new bands.

  • Ajattara - Noitumaa (2009)


    “Noitumaa” is what I image would happen if you take a band to the forest, give them some shrooms and peyote, leave some acoustic instruments lying around, and make them record something. I’m not saying this release is bad, but it’s just very very bizarre. And what might be more bizarre is that I actually enjoyed it (and I was not intoxicated in any way).


Recent Image Galleries